Possible new regions for 2015 Football

The TSSAA proposed three ideas for the Board of Control to consider (and later vote on, most likely in August) for Tennesee high school football for 2015: keep the current six-class system, return to five classes (last used in 2008) or adopt this new hybrid six-class plan.

The hybrid would take the top 32 schools in the state based on enrollment totals, comprise 6A football with them and allow each of those 32 teams to automatically play in the postseason each season. The TSSAA cited that roughly 90 percent of those 32 pretty much make the playoffs every year, anyway. So let them just make their own class.

The remaining 273 football playing schools would fall under the old five-class system with region play. Playoff brackets would be known right after the final games are played in Week 10. Matchups would be configured as so, top seed from Region 1 would take on fourth seed from Region 2. Second seed from Region 1 would take on third seed from Region 2. And so on.

Here are TSSAA projections on the 32 teams for 6A and what the new regions could look like.
** Teams would have the option of moving up to 6A, given that some of the smaller schools in the top 32 wouldn’t mind moving down to 5A.

AGAIN, this has not been approved yet.

Class 6A
Antioch, Arlington, Bartlett, Bearden, Blackman, Bolton, Collierville, Cookeville, Cordova, Dobyns-Bennett, Farragut, Franklin, Germantown, Hardin Valley, Houston, Jefferson County, John Overton, LaVergne, McGavock, Mt. Juliet, Oakland, Ravenwood, Riverdale, Science Hill, Sevier County, Siegel, Smyrna, Warren County, White Station, Whitehaven, William Blount and Wilson Central.

Region 1-5A: Cocke County, Daniel Boone, David Crockett, Morristown East, Morrisown West
Region 2-5A: Campbell County, Karns, Halls, Oak Ridge, Powell
Region 3-5A: Heritage, Catholic, Lenoir City, Maryville, Seymour, West
Region 4-5A: Bradley Central, Cleveland, McMinn County, Ooltewah, Rhea County, Soddy-Daisy, Walker Valley
Region 5-5A: Cane Ridge, Coffee County, Columbia Central, Franklin County, Glencliff, Lincoln County, Shelbyville Central, Stewarts Creek
Region 6-5A: Beech, Gallatin, Hendersonville, Hillwood, Hunters Lane, Lebanon, Station Camp
Region 7-5A: Brentwood, Centennial, Clarksville, Dickson County, Henry County, Independence, Rossview, West Creek
Region 8-5A: Brighton, Kirby, Memphis Central, Millington Central, Munford, Overton, Southwind, Wooddale

Region 1-4A: Cherokee, Grainger, Sullivan Central, Sullivan East, Sullivan South, Tennessee, Volunteer
Region 2-4A: Anderson County, Carter, Clinton, Fulton, Gibbs, Central, South-Doyle, Union County
Region 3-4A: Chattanooga Central, Cumberland County, East Hamilton, Hixson, Sequoyah, Stone Memorial, White County
Region 4-4A: Hillsboro, Lawrence County, Lipscomb, Spring Hill, Summit, Tullahoma
Region 5-4A: Livingston Academy, Macon County, Maplewood, Portland, White House, Whites Creek
Region 6-4A: Creek Wood, Kenwood, Montgomery Central, Northeast, Northwest, Springfield
Region 7-4A: Dyer County, Dyersburg, Hardin County, Haywood, Jackson North Side, Lexington, Obion County, Ripley
Region 8-4A: Craigmont, Fayette-Ware, Hamilton, Kingsbury, Melrose, Ridgeway

Region 1-3A: Chuckey-Doak, Elizabethton, Greeneville, Johnson County, Unicoi County, West Greene
Region 2-3A: York, CAK, Claiborne, Gatlinburg-Pittman, Kingston, Loudon, Pigeon Forge, Scott
Region 3-3A: Brainerd, Chattanooga Christian, East Ridge, Grundy, Howard, McMinn Central, Notre Dame, Red Bank, Sequatchie, Signal Mountain
Region 4-3A: Cannon County, DeKalb County, Fairview, Giles County, Marshall County, Page, Upperman
Region 5-3A: Cheatham County, CPA, East Nashville, Greenbrier, Pearl-Cohn, Stewart County, Stratford, Sycamore
Region 6-3A: Covington, Crockett County, Liberty, South Gibson, Westview
Region 7-3A: Bolivar, Chester County, JCM, Jackson South Side, McNairy Central
Region 8-3A: Fairley, Frederick Douglass, Memphis East, Raleigh-Egypt, Sheffield, Trezevant

Region 1-2A: Cosby, Cumberland Gap, Hampton, Happy Valley, South Greene, Sullivan North
Region 2-2A: Alcoa, Austin-East, Grace, Oliver Springs, Rockwood, Sweetwater, Wartburg
Region 3-2A: Bledsoe, Boyd-Buchanan, Marion County, Meigs County, Polk County, Silverdale, Tellico Plains, Tyner
Region 4-2A: Cascade, Community, Eagleville, Forrest, Jackson County, Smith County
Region 5-2A: East Hickman, East Robertson, Goodpasture, Harpeth, Hickman County, Westmoreland, White House Heritage
Region 6-2A: Adamsville, Camden, Decatur, Houston, Lewis County, Loretto, Scotts Hill, Waverly
Region 7-2A: Gibson County, JCS, Milan, Peabody, Trinity Christian
Region 8-2A: BTW, Frayser, GW Carver, Hillcrest, Manassas, Mitchell, Oakhaven, Westwood

Region 1-1A: Cloudland, Hancock County, North Greene, Unaka
Region 2-1A: Coalfield, Greenback, Harriman, Jellico, Midway, Oakdale, Oneida, Sunbright
Region 3-1A: Copper Basin, Fayetteville, Grace Baptist Academy, Huntland, Lookout Valley, Moore County, South Pitt, Whitwell
Region 4-1A: Clay County, Gordonsville, MTCS, Monterey, Pickett County, Red Boiling Springs, Trousdale, Watertown
Region 5-1A: Collinwood, Columbia Academy, Cornersville, Mt. Pleasant, Perry County, Richland, Summertown, Wayne County
Region 6-1A: Clarksville Academy, Bruceton, Huntingdon, Jo Byrns, McEwen, Nashville Christian
Region 7-1A: Dresden, Gleason, Greenfield, Lake County, McKenzie, South Fulton, Union City, West Carroll
Region 8-1A: Halls, Humboldt, Memphis Academy of Health/Sciences, Memphis North Side, Middleton