Tag Archives: electors

TNDP chooses slate of 11 presidential electors

The Tennessee Democratic Party Executive Committee has chosen a slate of 11 members of the Electoral College who will cast their votes for Hillary Clinton should the Democratic nominee carry the state in the November election – a prospect, of course, generally deemed unlikely.

Two of the Democratic electors, Richard Eskind of Nashville and Gale Jones Carson of Memphis, are designated as statewide electors representing Tennessee’s two U.S. Senate seats. (Eskind was husband of the late Jane Eskind, the first woman to win a statewide elective office in Tennessee – the old Public Service Commission – and once the party’s nominee for a U.S. Senate seat.)

The other seats are designated as representing each of the state’s nine congressional districts. Here’s a list of the Democratic electors by congressional district, as provided by the Tennessee Democratic Party:

Nancy Fischman of Johnson City, 1st Congressional District
Roy Cockrum of Knoxville, 2nd Congressional District.
Annie Hall of Signal Mountain, 3rd Congressional District
John T. Bragg Jr. of Murfreesboro, 4th Congressional District
Andrea Conte of Nashville, 5th Congressional District. (Note: Conte is the spouse of former Gov. Phil Bredesen.)
Aubrey T. Givens of Lebanon, 6th Congressional District
Michael T. Cartwright of Franklin, 7th Congressional District
Michael McWherter of Dresden, 8th Congressional District (Note: McWherter is the son of the late former Gov. Ned McWherter)
State Rep. Raumesh Akbari of Memphis, 9th Congressional District

TNGOP chooses slate of 11 presidential electors

The Tennessee Republican Party’s State Executive Committee has chosen a slate of 11 members of the national Electoral College for the formal process of choosing the nation’s next president following the November election. The Republican slate will cast the Tennessee ballots if Donald Trump carries Tennessee, as generally anticipated.

Two of the Republican electors, Joey Jacobs of Brentwood and Beth Scott Clayton Amos of Nashville, fill the slots designated for the state’s two U.S. Senate seats. The others each represent one for each the state’s nine congressional districts.

Here’s the list of electors by congressional district, as provided by TNGOP.

Congressional District 1: Jason Mumpower of Bristol.
Congressional District 2: Susan Mills of Maryville.
Congressional District 3: Liz Holiway of Harriman.
Congressional District 4: Lynne Davis of Lascassas.
Congressional District 5: Tom Lawless of Nashville.
Congressional District 6: Mike Callahan of Monterey
Congressional District 7: Pat Allen of Clarksville.
Congressional District 8: Shannon Haynes of Alamo.
Congressional District 9: Drew Daniel of Memphis.

From a TNGOP press release:

TNGOP Chairman Ryan Haynes remarked, “These people have been instrumental in the success of the Republican Party and we are proud to name them as electors to represent our state.”

These electors were officially submitted to the Tennessee Secretary of State earlier today. The meeting of the presidential electors will take place on December 19, 2016 in the House Chamber of the Tennessee Capitol.

TN Electoral College Votes Formally Cast for Mitt Romney

News release from Secretary of State’s office:
Eleven Electoral College representatives from across Tennessee met in Nashville Monday to cast the state’s presidential votes for Republican nominee Mitt Romney and his vice-presidential running mate, Paul Ryan.
Like most states, Tennessee’s votes in the Electoral College are allocated based on a “winner take all” system – which means the electors pledged to award all 11 of the state’s votes to the candidate who received the highest amount of votes statewide in the Nov. 6 general election.
Results of Monday’s meeting of the electors will be forwarded to Washington, D.C., where Congress is scheduled to meet in a joint session Jan. 6 to accept the results from all 50 states.
Tennessee’s electoral votes are determined by its proportional share of the United States population. The electors this year were:

Continue reading