Tag Archives: areas

Ten Counties Designated Disaster Areas

News release from FEMA:
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Tennessee and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding during the period of February 29 to March 2, 2012.
The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton, and Polk.
Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Continue reading

14 Counties Deemed Agriculture Disaster Areas

News release from governor’s office:
NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has designated 14 counties natural disasters for agriculture as a result of drought and excessive heat in 2011.
Counties designated as primary natural disaster areas include Blount, Cumberland, Fayette, Fentress, Haywood, Loudon, McMinn, Macon, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott and Wilson. Haslam requested the secretarial designation last month.
“Agriculture is important to the state and contributes significantly to our rural economy. I’m pleased that USDA has acted on my request so promptly,” Haslam said. “I hope this assistance helps eligible farmers recover and better prepare for the upcoming growing season.”
In separate action, Gov. Haslam has requested a disaster designation for Henry and Williamson counties also for drought and excessive heat and for Claiborne and Union counties for flooding and excessive rain during the past growing season.

Continue reading