Animal protection PAC backs 19 in TN legislative primaries (including Durham)

News release from Tennessee Voters for Animal Protection
NASHVILLE, June 22, 2016 – Tennessee Voters for Animal Protection (TVAP), a non-partisan political action committee (PAC), released its list of endorsed candidates in 19 state legislative primary races today.

“We are excited to announce our endorsements for the upcoming state primaries,” said Anjie Crow, TVAP’s president. “We’ve never endorsed this many candidates in the primaries before and are very pleased that there are so many animal-friendly candidates this year. It’s proof that animal protection issues are more important in Tennessee than ever and that there are many candidates who are willing to ensure that animals have a voice in Tennessee.”

2, Doug Overbey (R) 4, Jon Lundberg (R) 10, Ty O’Grady (D) 20, Steve Dickerson (R) 30, Sara Kyle (D)

4, John B. Holsclaw Jr. (R) 11, Michael McCarter (R) 28, JoAnne Favors (D) 45, Courtney Rogers (R) 58, Harold M. Love Jr. (D) 61, Charles Sargent (R) 65, Jeremy Durham (R) 80, Johnny Shaw (D) 85, Johnnie Turner (D) 88, Larry J. Miller (D) 94, Thomas E. Cooper (R) 95, Curry Todd (R) 96, Steve McManus (R) 98, Antonio Parkinson (D)

TVAP’s political support for candidates is based solely on animal protection issues. Methods used to determine endorsements may be questionnaires and/or combined results of TVAP Scorecards.

General election endorsements will be announced later this summer.

Tennessee Voters for Animal Protection is a PAC dedicated to electing animal-friendly candidates and unifying voters by creating a powerful voting bloc, ensuring animals have a voice in Tennessee. For more information, please visit

Note: Perhaps the most notable endorsement is that for embattled Rep. Jeremy Durham, R-Franklin, currently under investigation for alleged sexual harassment and campaign finance violations and facing two primary challengers. In Senate District 10, O’Grady is one of three Democrats seeking nomination to oppose Sen. Todd Gardenhire, R-Chattanooga. The only endorsed challenger to an incumbent on the list is Michael McCarter, opposing Rep. Jeremy Faison, R-Cosby, in House District 11.