Six state senators, 28 state reps draw no party opponents

Five incumbent state senators were effectively assured of new terms when no candidate filed to oppose their reelection by Thursday’s deadline.

They are Sens. Becky Massey of Knoxville, Frank Niceley of Strawberry Plains, Ken Yager of Kingston and Ferrell Haile of Gallatin and Mark Norris of Collierville – all Republicans. Sen. Joey Hensley, R-Hohenwald, has no Democratic or Republican opposition, but an independent filed against him.

In the House, 28 incumbents drawing no Democratic or Republican opposition include:

Reps. Timothy Hill, R-Bluff City; Art Swan, R-Maryville; Tilman Goins, R-Morristown; Dale Carr, R-Sevierville; Joe Armstrong, D-Knoxville; Bill Dunn, R-Knoxville; Andrew Farmer, R-Sevierville; Harry Brooks, R-Knoxville; Bob Ramsey, R-Maryville; John Forgety, R-Athens; Kevin Brooks, R-Cleveland; Gerald McCormick, R-Hixson;

Bill Beck, D-Nashville; Mike Stewart, D-Nashville; Brenda Gilmore, D-Nashville; John Ray Clemmons, D-Nashville; Sherry Jones, D-Nashville; Sheila Butt, R-Columbia; Joe Pitts, D-Clarksville; Curtis Johnson, R-Clarksville;

David “Coach” Byrd, R-Waynesboro; Steve McDaniel, R-Parkers Crossroads; Bill Sanderson, R-Kenton; Craig Fitzhugh, D-Ripley; Joe Towns, D-Memphis; Karen Camper, D-Memphis; G.A. Hardaway, D-Memphis; Ron Lollar, R-Bartlett.

The state Division of Elections list of qualifying petitions filed is HERE. Candidates can withdraw their petitions until April 14.