Eight apply for Court of Criminal Appeals vacancy

News release from Administrative Office of the Courts
Nashville, Tenn. – The Governor’s Council for Judicial Appointments will consider eight applicants when it meets March 8 in Jackson to select nominees for the Court of Criminal Appeals vacancy created by the appointment of Justice Roger A. Page to the Tennessee Supreme Court.

The applicants are:

J. Robert Carter, Jr.

Vance Walker Dennis

J. Ross Dyer

Bobby Gene Gray, Jr.

Bruce Irwin Griffey

David M. Livingston

Joseph C. Murphy, Jr.

Chadwick R. Wood

The Governor’s Council for Judicial Appointments will interview the applicants on Tuesday, March 8 in the Supreme Court building in Jackson, #6 Highway 45 Bypass, 38301. The meeting will include a public hearing starting at 9 a.m., during which members of the public may express any objections to any applicant. The interview, which will directly follow the public hearing, also is open to the public.

The council is expected to vote immediately following the interviews and forward the names to Gov. Bill Haslam for his consideration.

Completed applications of all the candidates can be found on TNCourts.gov.