New ‘special bureau’ established to protect TN state officials

News release from state Department of Safety and Homeland Security
NASHVILLE – Commissioner Bill Gibbons and Colonel Tracy Trott today announced the creation of a special bureau to oversee the units and divisions of the Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) responsible for the safety of citizens, government officials, state employees and state facilities. The new Protective Services and Special Programs Bureau encompasses the Executive Protection Unit, the Capitol Protection Unit, a new State Facility Protection Unit, the Special Programs Unit, and the Handgun Unit.

“With the increased challenges of securing our state, the THP has taken on more responsibilities. The new Protective Services and Special Programs Bureau will allow us to have a greater focus on ensuring the security of our employees, where they work, and the public who visits those facilities,” Trott said.

Major Mark Proctor, who was recently promoted from captain over the Protective Services Division, will lead the new bureau.

“We are very aware of the need to place a greater emphasis on matters of security. This restructuring reflects that Major Proctor is uniquely qualified to lead on such matters,” Gibbons said.

The specialized units in the Protective Services and Special Programs Bureau previously fell under the supervision of the THP’s Administrative Bureau, which also includes the patrol’s Special Operations Unit and the department’s training center. Major Danny Talley will continue to lead the Administrative Bureau.

Proctor is an 18 year veteran of the Tennessee Highway Patrol. He was first stationed as a road trooper in the Memphis and Nashville Districts before joining the Governor’s Security Detail as a sergeant in 2001. Proctor rose through the ranks and served as lieutenant within the Executive Protection Unit and then captain over the Protective Services Division. Originally from Humphreys County, Proctor is a graduate of McEwen High School, Austin Peay State University, and the Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the National Governors Security Association as Treasurer. In addition he serves on the Board of Directors for the International Association of Chiefs of Police Capitol Police Section.