Lillard, Wilson get new terms as state treasurer, comptroller

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — A joint session of the Tennessee House and Senate has approved new terms for two of the state’s constitutional officers.

Comptroller Justin Wilson and Treasurer David Lillard were elected Wednesday to their fourth two-year terms. Wilson, Lillard and Secretary of State Tre Hargett were each first elected in 2009 after Republicans gained control of the Legislature.

Hargett is in the middle of a four-year term so he didn’t have to stand for re-election.

Wilson is a Nashville tax attorney who as an aide to then-Gov. Don Sundquist was a prominent supporter for a failed effort to impose a state income tax in 2002. Lillard, of Germantown, is a former member of the Shelby County commission and a financial and tax attorney.

Note: Here is the full text of Wilson’s acceptance speech, as provided by his staff:
“We have work to do. God Bless the State of Tennessee”

The somewhat longer news release from his office is below.

News release from comptroller’s office:
The members of the Tennessee Senate and House have re-elected Justin P. Wilson to serve as the Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury. The vote by acclamation was taken during Wednesday’s joint convention of the 109th General Assembly.

Wilson is Tennessee’s 34th Comptroller of the Treasury and was re-elected to his fourth two-year term. He leads a staff of more than 500 employees.

The Comptroller’s duties include the audit of state and local government entities and participation in the general financial and administrative management and oversight of state government.

“I am very pleased to serve a fourth term as Tennessee’s Comptroller,” said Comptroller Wilson. “I appreciate the General Assembly’s support and confidence, and I pledge to continue our office’s mission of improving the quality of life for all Tennesseans by making government work better.”