11 legislators for Carr in GOP primary back Alexander in general

News release from Alexander campaign:
KNOXVILLE – The Alexander for Senate campaign today released a letter it received from 11 Republican state legislators who are endorsing Lamar Alexander for re-election after supporting state Rep. Joe Carr in the Republican primary.

In the letter, the legislators write, “Even though we, the undersigned, supported Joe Carr in the August primary for United States Senate, we feel that it is vitally important to the country that we stand together and support replacing the liberal agenda that is now in control of the United States Senate.

“Today we are endorsing you, Senator Lamar Alexander, in your bid for re-election, assured that you have heard and understand the voices of conservatives in this state who expect real change in conducting our nation’s business. We look forward to conservative leadership in Congress and sincerely believe that a vote for Lamar Alexander is a vote against the liberal agenda in Washington.”

Alexander said, “I greatly appreciate the support of these state legislators in my effort to defeat a Democrat nominee who will be one more vote for Barack Obama’s agenda. Tennessee Republican legislators know how important it is for us to have a new Republican majority in the U.S. Senate that can finally take the country in a different, more conservative direction.”

The letter was signed by state Sens. Frank Niceley and Joey Hensley, as well as state Reps. Bill Spivey, Bill Sanderson, Tim Wirgau, Mike Sparks, Matthew Hill, Mark Pody, Timothy Hill, Rick Womick and Andy Holt.

The Alexander campaign is chaired by Congressman Jimmy Duncan, with co-chairmen Governor Bill Haslam, U.S. Senator Bob Corker, Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, Speaker Beth Harwell, as well as Congressmen Blackburn, Roe, Black, Fincher, and Fleischmann.

The campaign’s Honorary Co-Chairmen include former U.S. Senators Howard Baker (1925-2014), Bill Brock, Bill Frist and Fred Thompson, as well as former Governors Winfield Dunn and Don Sundquist.

Serving as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Statewide Committee to Elect Lamar Alexander are all 13 living former state Republican Party chairs.

Note: A post from back when some of the legislators were endorsing Carr is HERE. It appears at least six mentioned in that Carr release are not listed in this Alexander release, including two who lost their primaries (Sen. Stacey Campfield of Knoxville and Rep. Tony Shipley of Kingsport.) Four not mentioned as signing the Alexander letter are Reps. Shelia Butt, Courtney Rogers, Judd Matheny and Micah Van Huss.