Alexander Finds 13 Living Former GOP Chairmen

News release from Sen. Lamar Alexander’s campaign:
Nashville, Feb. 7 – The Alexander campaign today announced that all 13 living former Tennessee Republican Party chairs will serve as honorary co-chairmen of the Statewide Committee to Reelect Lamar Alexander. The announcement follows the campaign’s recent announcements of political and finance leadership.
Congressman John J. Duncan, Jr., says: “This unprecedented support shows how much Republicans appreciate Lamar Alexander’s leadership as governor and senator building a conservative grassroots, statewide Republican Party.”
Alexander said, “I am grateful for the support from men and women who have helped the Tennessee Republican Party grow from a minority of voters to our state’s dominant political party.”
The terms of the 13 Republican chairmen span the last four decades from S.L. “Kopie” Kopald, Jr., of Memphis who served from 1971 to 1974 to Robin Smith of Chattanooga, the most recent of the 13 to serve as state party chairman.
The complete group of former state party chairs endorsing Senator Alexander include:

Robin Smith, 2007-2009
Bob Davis, Jr., 2004-2007
Beth Harwell, 2001-2004
John “Chip” Saltsman, 1998-2001
Jim Burnett, 1996-1998
Randle Richardson, 1993-1995
Tommy Hopper, 1990-1992
Brad Martin, 1988-1990
Jim Henry, 1985-1988
Susan Richardson Williams, 1982-1985
Charles L. Overby, 1981-1982
Tom Beasley, 1977-1981
S.L. “Kopie” Kopald, Jr., 1971- 1974
Alexander announced on December 1 that Congressman Duncan will serve as his campaign chairman and that his campaign co-chairmen are Governor Bill Haslam, Senator Bob Corker, Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, Speaker Beth Harwell, as well as Congressmen Blackburn, Roe, Black, Fincher and Fleischmann.
Last week his campaign announced four Tennessee fundraisers that state finance chairman Steve Smith predicted will raise $3 million to add to the $1 million the senator already has for his re-election.

Leave a Reply