Duncan, Fincher, DesJarlais, Cohen Win Primaries

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — Four congressional incumbents have defeated their challengers in Tennessee’s primary election.
The winners were Republican Reps. Jimmy Duncan in the 2nd District, Stephen Fincher in the 8th District and Scott DesJarlais in the 4th District. Democratic Rep. Steve Cohen prevailed in the 9th District.
Republican Reps. Chuck Fleischmann and Diane Black posted strong leads in early returns following some of the state’s toughest campaigns.
Republican U.S. Sen. Bob Corker also easily won nomination.
Seven little-known Democrats were vying for the Senate nomination to face Corker in the general election.
Republican Reps. Phil Roe and Marsha Blackburn and Democratic Rep. Jim Cooper had no primary opposition.

Leave a Reply