Recruiting Retirees

News release from Department of Economic and Community Development:
NASHVILLE – Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bill Hagerty announced today Maury, Roane and Warren counties have met the criteria to join Retire Tennessee, the state’s retiree recruitment program, bringing the state’s total number of active Retire Tennessee programs to 13.
“The addition of Maury, Roane and Warren counties to our Retire Tennessee Program reflects a commitment from each community to promote Tennessee as a great place for retirees to call home,” said Commissioner Hagerty. “I applaud those communities that have made retiree recruitment a part of their economic development strategies and who see the benefits retirees can bring to the communities in which they choose to live.”

“Our Retire Tennessee communities continue to attract active adults from all over the country to relocate to Tennessee,” said Ramay Winchester, Retire Tennessee Program director. “Their enthusiasm and passion for their communities inspires potential retirees to take a serious look at Tennessee, and we are continually looking for new ways to promote our state as a ‘destination retirement’ state.”
Communities participating in the Retire Tennessee Program have established a Retiree Relocation Committee, conducted a community assessment, started marketing efforts to attract and relocate the retiree market and participate in trade shows geared toward attracting retirees.
The other Retire Tennessee programs are Cumberland, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Jefferson, Lincoln, Loudon, Putnam, Robertson and Sullivan counties.
For more information on the Retire Tennessee program, please contact Ramay Winchester at (731) 423-5771 or via email at

Leave a Reply