Farragut wins Middle School Science Bowl

Farragut Midle School -002The winning team, from left, Kevin Wang, Prajwal Jagadish, Caden Farley, Aditya Bal, Luke Kronzer and Coach Mary Sue Pruitt.

A team from Farragut Middle School won the sixth annual Tennessee Middle School Science Bowl over the weekend and will get an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. for the national competition  (April 28-May 2) sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy. The school also got $750.

Members of the winning team were Kevin Wang, Prajwal Jagadish, Caden Farley, Aditya Bal and Luke Kronzer. Mary Sue Pruitt coached the Farragut team.

Second place and $500 went to a team from Jefferson Middle School in Oak Ridge, and third place ($250) went to Norris Middle School.

This was the Sixth Annual Middle School Science Bowl in Tennessee. It was held on the Oak Ridge campus of Roane State Community College, and 16 teams competed.

Besides DOE, other sponsors included the American Museum of Science and Energy, the AMSE Foundation, Roane State Community College and Z11 Communications.

This entry was posted in AMSE, DOE HQ, ORO, Science on by .

About Frank Munger

Senior Writer Frank Munger covers the Dept. of Energy's Oak Ridge facilities and many related topics — nuclear weapons, nuclear waste and other things nuclear, environmental cleanup and science of all sorts. Atomic City Underground is, first and foremost, a news blog, but there's room for analysis, opinion and random thoughts that have no place else to go.