Spotlight on ORNL: lab wins 8 R&D Awards


Jun Qu of Oak Ridge National Laboratory holds a flask of the Ionic Liquid Anti-wear Additives for Fuel-efficient Engine Lubricants, which the lab developed in collaboration with General Motors Research and Development Center, Shell Global Solutions and Lubrizol Corp. It was one of eight R&D 100 Awards won or shared by lab researchers. (ORNL photo)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory researchers continued a history of success at the R&D 100 awards, coming away with eight in this year’s competition that recognizes top technological innovations.

ORNL, the Department of Energy’s largest multi-purpose science lab, has won or shared 187 awards since the program — sponsored by R&D Magazine — began in 1963.

Here’s a list of the ORNL technologies:

— Continuously Variable Series Reactor, a high-power magnetic amplifier that controls power flow in power systems.  It was developed by ORNL, SPX Transformer Solutions Inc. and the University of Tennessee. ORNL inventors were Aleksandar Dimitrovski and Burak Ozpineci.

— Diagnosis Using the Chaos of Computing Systems, a lightweight software that detects a variety of hardware faults in processing units, accelerators, etc.  It was developed by ORNL’s Nageswara Rao.

— High Performance Silicon Carbide based Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle Battery Charger. It was jointly developed by ORNL, Arkansas Power Electronics International, the University of Arkansas and Toyota. ORNL contributors were Laura Marlino, Nance Ericson, Shane Frank and Chuck Britton.

— Ionic Liquid Anti-wear Additives for Fuel-efficient Engine Lubricants. It was developed by ORNL, General Motors Research and Development Center, Shell Global Solutions and Lubrizol Corp. Key contributors from ORNL were Jun Qu, Huimin Luo, Sheng Dai, Peter Blau, Todd Toops, Brian West and Bruce Bunting.

— iSPM: Intelligent Software for Personalized Modeling of Expert Opinions, Decisions and Errors in Visual Examination Tasks. It was developed by ORNL’s Georgia Tourassi, Songhua Xu, Hong-Jun Yoon and Sophie Voisin.

— Portable Aluminum Deposition System. The aluminum plating advancement was developed by ORNL, the University of Mississippi and United Technologies Research Center. ORNL researchers were Sheng Dai, Xiao-Guang Sun and Youxing Fan.

— The RF-DPF Diesel Particulate Filter Sensor. The radio-frequency based sensor and control systems was developed by Filter Sensing Technologies Inc., in collaboration with ORNL and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  ORNL contributors were James Parks II, Vitaly Prikhodko, and John Storey.

— Super-hydro-tunable HiPAS Membranes. This new class of membrane products was developed by ORNL’s Michael Hu, Matthew Sturgeon, Ramesh Bhave, Brian Bischoff, Tolga Aytug and Tim Theiss.

A new feature on Atomic City Underground allows readers to sign up for email updates and receive a notice each time new information is posted on the news blog. Just put your email address in the box on the lower right of the blog’s front page and follow instructions. Thanks to all loyal readers.

This entry was posted in ORNL on by .

About Frank Munger

Senior Writer Frank Munger covers the Dept. of Energy's Oak Ridge facilities and many related topics — nuclear weapons, nuclear waste and other things nuclear, environmental cleanup and science of all sorts. Atomic City Underground is, first and foremost, a news blog, but there's room for analysis, opinion and random thoughts that have no place else to go.