Four from ORNL & UT named AAAS Fellows

Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s Martin Keller, the associate lab director for energy and environmental sciences and founding director of the BioEnergy Science Center, was among four scientists with local ties to be elected 2013 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences.

Other include:

—  Sudarsanam Suresh Babu, the University of Tennessee-ORNL Governor’s Chair in Advanced Manufacturing, who was cited for contributions to computational materials sciences and other achievements..

— Terry Clyde Hazen, the UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Environmental Biotechnology. He was cited for contributions to microbial biology and bioremediation of the environment.

— Barry Bruce — UT professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and co-founder of the Sustainable Energy Education Center, who was recognized for investigations in photosynthesis and chloroblast biology.

The new fellows will be honored at the AAAS annual meeting in February.

A new feature on Atomic City Underground allows readers to sign up for email updates and receive a notice each time new information is posted on the news blog. Just put your email address in the box on the lower right of the blog’s front page and follow instructions. Thanks to all loyal readers.

This entry was posted in ORNL, UT on by .

About Frank Munger

Senior Writer Frank Munger covers the Dept. of Energy's Oak Ridge facilities and many related topics — nuclear weapons, nuclear waste and other things nuclear, environmental cleanup and science of all sorts. Atomic City Underground is, first and foremost, a news blog, but there's room for analysis, opinion and random thoughts that have no place else to go.